Rohan Banerjee

Rohan Banerjee

  Cricket Player - Twenty20 Indian Cricket League



Rohan Banerjee Related Links

About Rohan Banerjee

Rohan Banerjee had not even imagined in the wildest of his dreams that someday his passion and fervor for cricket would earn him a berth in the nation’s biggest cricket tournament of 2008.

Born in a small village of Bengal on the 10th of December, 1988, this left-handed batsman showed early signs of his skillful moves and expertise with the bat on the emerald turf. Representing the Bengal U-14 team and then the U-19 team, Rohan Banerjee boasts some impressive performances that caught the fancy of the IPL selector team. It was dream come true for Banerjee who bagged a place in the Kolkata Knight Riders team. His meticulous strokes and strides and solid technique promise an illustrious future ahead.

The IPL, an acronym for the Indian Premier League, was a Twenty20 cricket tournament held by the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India). Since its inception on 18th April, 2008, this tournament had been a rage with kids and adults alike. Women too would watch the matches with keen interest. This event was by far the biggest thing to have taken the nation by storm in 2008. There were in all 8 teams participating in the IPL namely Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers, and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Though this tournament was held by and in India, renowned cricketers from the world over were roped in for walloping amounts to play for the teams. The likes of Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, Yuvraj Singh, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Stephen Fleming, Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Shoaib Malik, Adam Gilchrist, Chris Gayle, Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Warne, and Graeme Smith were part of different teams. This tournament was held on such a large scale that all these teams were bid for stupendous sums of money and were owned by biggies of the industries. Each team had an anthem unique to them and their very own celeb brand ambassador. The IPL ended on the 1st of June, 2008 with the victory of the Rajasthan Royals team owned by A.R Jha, Lachlan Murdoch and Suresh Chellaram.

DISCLAIMER: THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL SITE FOR THE INDIVIDUAL. This is a purely informational site about the individual and it is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, the individual. This information on this site was obtained from public sources, and may not be accurate, complete or up-to-date.